Skip to content

Introducing Mountain Chicken

February 11, 2009

This is the umpteenth and hopefully last attempt at a successful launch for this blog.

Girl on a Mountain with a Chicken was a blog title that I came up with as a college student in a downtown apartment in Los Angeles; a self fulfilling title I hoped. However, at that time, my ambition to live a rural, self sufficient life extended no further than Pasadena, a suburb of Los Angeles that was deemed Rurbanish due to it’s trees, few hiking tails, and occasional stables. I wanted an aerogarden, gingham drapes, a kitchen nook, and perhaps….a chicken? That was the extent of my rural living ambition.It was impossible to ask for more while living in a city of 3.5 million people.

Seven months later I’m in the thick of a Colorado winter on a 600 acre ranch with a herd of horses, a pack of dogs, a smattering of ducks and bunnies, and yes, a chicken.

I panicked shortly after I graduated and took the furthest thing from a real world job I could find: I became a wrangler on a dude ranch. It tapped into the barbed wire fixing, dirt loving, plaid wearing part of me that I had only ever had the pleasure of meeting on a few occasions.

Now I own more baseball caps than hair products, more boots than heels, and more button downs than ironic vintage tees.
And life is beautiful.

I really did become Girl on a Mountain with a Chicken.

This blog is meant to chronicle my transition from hopeful dreamer to self actualizer. I yearn for a little cabin on some acres, where from the rocker on my porch I can look at the happy bucolic scene of goats and horses and chickens and gardens.  I’m going to start slow…I’m working on the dude ranch until September where I’ll cut my teeth on animal husbandry. Then a move to rural somewhere. Then some chickens. Some bunnies. Some goats. And some horses. And vegetables. Lots of vegetables.

Hopefully to come: recipes, stories, ambitions, photographs, art, gardening, livestock, and dreams.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 9, 2011 10:46 am

    Wow girl, and your still there? Sweetness!

Leave a comment