Skip to content

Library Living

February 24, 2012

I’m in the final stretch of finishing my thesis.

Unfortunately, I was never a runner who could count on a final burst of speed once the finish line was in sight. Nope, usually by that point, it’s all I can do to keep one foot moving in front of the other. That’s how writing is going right now – just trudging through, one sentence at a time.

The only thing keeping me from going batshit insane is my library seat near a big window. It’s almost 4:30 pm here, and I’m struck by the fact that just a few months ago, it would have been dark outside at this time. Now, the sun is high in the sky. There’s a calming certainty and dependability to this.

The days will get longer.
My thesis will get done.

As sure as the sun rises and sets, there will come a day when my thesis is behind me, and I can enjoy being a participant of the world again, rather than just watching it go by through a window.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

