Skip to content

Why I live in Colorado…

March 28, 2011

Because these dudes live in what’s essentially my backyard:

CSC_0823  CSC_0820CSC_0822

I saw these guys while on a mountain drive with a friend. The weather was cooperating, so we decided to head up the canyon for the afternoon. It was GORGEOUS! Too bad we hadn’t planned on hiking. It would have been a perfect hiking day.

I love that an hour’s drive in Colorado (hell, even a 20 minute drive) will produce all sorts of wonderful encounters with wildlife. A drive out to Estes or up Poudre canyon means moose, mule deer, elk, coyote, fox, bear, and bighorn sheep sightings. Back home in California, the closest brush I had with “big game” was the occasional opossum or squirrel.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 29, 2011 7:51 am

    Very cool! I have only been to Colorado for skiing, I would love to see the rest of it when it’s not snow covered.

  2. March 29, 2011 11:11 am

    Your site is Delicious! Vibrant, Fun, Adventurous and I love ALL the same things. I live in the wilds of Arizona. Horses, German Shepherds, Elk, Mountain Lions, Chickens, Cats…

    Keep having fun.

Leave a Reply

