Skip to content

Oh Facebook….

March 4, 2011

I’ve often thought about abstaining from  Facebook in order to see if there really is a productive person hiding behind this Facebook junkie.

My recent cold brush with death jump started the facebook detox and I just realized I haven’t logged on in four days!

I wonder if I can make it a whole week without checking my account.

This could be tough, considering that my gut reaction upon the realization that I’ve successfully avoided FB these last few days was to update my status with news of my four day anti-facebook streak.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 8, 2011 9:07 am

    I got off facebook for about 2 months. I found it refreshing to not be compulsively checking it all the time. I got back on mostly because I missed seeing what my horse friends are up to!

  2. BirdieNumNum permalink
    March 29, 2011 12:18 pm

    Ooh yeah. High fives for temporary reprieves from Facebook! Instead of telling myself I won’t log on for a few days or weeks or whatever, I am trying to see how long I can go without logging in and checking the newsfeed. I may end up realizing I don’t ever need to do this again! Exciting. I get notifications of event invites, messages, and whatever else I may be tagged in sent straight to my email anyway, so I read them in there and only log in to directly respond to those if needed.

    And… I’m going to demand that my local friends just plain hang out with me more in person, and I’ll write emails/Skype/IM my more distant friends.

    I would really like to just delete the whole damn account, but there are certain groups that I’d still like to remain a part of and they only post event invites through FB and blah.

    I’ve had to be careful not to let some other internet time-waster pick up the slack that Facebook has left behind. Haha.

Leave a Reply

