Skip to content

Why did I go back to school?

February 3, 2011

Because after being removed from the academic scene for a few years there’s something romantic about the life of a starving student pulling all nighters in pursuit of academic glory.

I really wish I had consulted 20 year old me before going back to grad school. Preferably the 20 year old me in the middle of finals who would have said NO! WRONG! STOP! GET A JOB AND MAKE MONEY! YOU HATE BEING POOR AND HATE HOW NO ONE IS ON FACEBOOK AT 3AM TO COMMISERATE WITH YOU ABOUT PULLING YOUR THIRD ALL NIGHTER THIS WEEK!

20 year old me was far wiser than 24 year old me. 24 year old me who has one page of a five page essay down. An essay that I have…..90 minutes to complete.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 3, 2011 9:45 am

    There’s an award for you over at my blog. 🙂

  2. February 3, 2011 12:16 pm

    I had to do a double take because for a moment I thought I wrote that! Ok, not really, but I could have. Even when I read about you starting school again I was excited for you. I was working on my masters and in the throes of it all and I STILL thought it sounded exciting (apparently I thought only MY program was a waste of time…). I’m almost done now, but I actually should have been done in December. Last semester was my thesis semester. I got a full draft done by the end of the semester, but am still working on revisions. It’s currently 79 pages. I hate it. Every word. It’s evil. I was supposed to be up till 3 a.m. working on it last night, but there was no internet (I have to use internet from home to access the file), so instead I went to bed early, got up at 3, did chores, and came to work so I could leave work early to get some more work done on it. Probably doesn’t make you feel better, but hopefully you’ll hear the, “You’re not alone” and “This too shall pass” messages. Vent all you need to. It helps!

  3. February 3, 2011 7:47 pm

    I know a kid who did a 300 pg thesis. I have no idea how you guys do it. i feeling like I’m drowning in undergrad work!

  4. BirdieNumNum permalink
    February 5, 2011 2:40 pm

    Well hey! Keep writing in the blog! This too shall pass.

  5. February 7, 2011 12:40 pm

    School sucks. But I will bet a left over tomato rind from the darling Precious Hen that I would be delighted to trade homework loads with you. 🙂

    I just stumbled across your blog and HAVE to hear more about Uno Mas. Perhaps she might have words of wisdom to impart to my overly spoiled and darling Mille Fleur?

Leave a Reply

