Skip to content

So I think I’m getting a horse…

November 24, 2010

It is probably a hugely irresponsible financial decision, but a very pretty one.

A year old  palomino filly with liquid brown eyes financial decision.

Who needs a retirement fund anyways?

Pending a successful pre-purchase vet check, I’m about 90% that Blondie will be joining my equi-hamster-chicken herd.

She’s freakn’ cute, right? And look how much leg she still has left! Cute, barely halter broke horses should probably represent the smallest allocation of my attention right now instead of the majority of it, but so be it. I’m going to take a chance on this pretty filly and am fortunate enough to have the money to support her. She’s going to be my hunter, x-country, trail, ranch versatlity horse.

And we will love each other.

And I will do all my homework in the hay barn while she snuffles the pages of my book (as per Ashleigh and Wonder).

And we will ride bareback and bridless through apple orchards (despite the fact that there aren’t any here) and stop only to splash each other in a murmuring brook.

And we will have a gruff trainer with a heart of gold who crushes his hat (they always crush their hats, don’t they?) and smokes a pipe (not in the barn though…..that mistake happens later on in the series when the novice groom puts out a cigarette on a hay bale and they only JUST get all the horses out of the barn…phew, close one).

Hopefully this pony has no problem living on optomism and literary narrative.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 24, 2010 5:03 pm

    I love this post! I think the best things sometimes come from financially irresponsible decisions that we make with our hearts. As long as you and Blondie aren’t going to starve to death, I say go for it. She’s really pretty, and she’ll make you happy.

  2. December 8, 2010 7:24 am

    What a lovely girl!
    My financially irresponsible decision (horse number 4 at the time!) was a total delight, and I loved every minute of being with him.

Leave a Reply

