Skip to content

Thanks, “literature”, for messing with my “reality”

November 23, 2010

One of the unforseen effects of being a first semester lit major buried in the depths of theory is the addition of quotation marks to my life. Theory destabalizes and problematizes any notion you ever had about foundational essences of things and you learn that nothing, NOTHING is what (arbitrarily allocated!) word/signifier signifies. It’s almost impossible for me to write a paper without using “nature”, “literature”, “reality”, “gender”, “truth”.

Now that I’m reading Omnivore’s Dilemma for a class, I have to add “organic” to that list.

Stay tuned for “legitimate” posts about “important” things going on my life like getting a “horse”…..becasue who knows if horses are really horses or if they just represent the idea of “horse” as it’s posited within the  matrix of hegemonic socio-political discourse.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 23, 2010 9:49 pm

    There is, however, a plausible construct which postulates that your “horse” might be the very thing binding you to “reality”.

  2. December 1, 2010 9:50 pm

    The sad thing is that I understand that post only because I spent a lot of money on an education that I do not use. My $100,000 grad school education has allowed me to understand blog posts and that’s about it. Your new pony is pretty though!

Leave a Reply

