Skip to content

Updates

November 16, 2010

All sorts of things have been happening that I haven’t kept written record of…

  • -The snow is here. We had a few inches a couple days ago and it’s been blustering intermittently since then.
  • My pony is finally in Ft. Collins. He’s a little underweight, and I’m blanket hunting. Also kicking myself for not having the foresight to buy a blanket during all those summer sales.
  • Went to an awesome conference about our moral obligation to end global warming.
  • Finished reading James Kunstler’s “Made by Hand”. Fantastic read for anyone interested in ethics, the environment, the fundamental tenets of society, and self sufficiency. I’m a total fan and will be picking up his other works at the library. I think he’s best known for “The Long Emergency”.
  • Getting excited about Thanksgiving at the ranch…..and the fall break in general.
  • I put in my two week’s notice at the restaurant. It was a pretty graceful affair and much more anticlimactic than I expected. Only three more shifts and I’m D-o-n-e.
  • Still trying to figure out how I want to organize my future in academia. I’m in a small program that suffers from a lack of funding, so the classes I want to take aren’t available every semester, or even every year. After this next semester, all my core classes will be complete. Do I want to spread out my next 18 units over the span of a few years, taking only the classes that interest me while working full time? Or do I want to take whatever classes are being offered, just so that I can fill the requirements and finish in two years?
  • Still debating over the horse.
  • Have discovered the joy of chicken thighs. So much cheaper than chicken breasts.
3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 16, 2010 1:40 pm

    hey congrats on the 2 weeks notice! My last day was Friday. I am feeling the panic about lack of $$, but also the relief of all of that negativity and time consuming drama!

  2. November 16, 2010 8:40 pm

    Congrats on getting rid of the awful restaurant job… and glad to hear your horse has arrived! Try ebay or horseloverz.com for a good blanket for winter.

  3. December 3, 2010 1:07 pm

    Was just thinking of you this morning and thought I’d check in. Been a long while. Glad to see you’re still there and keeping up with the finer things in life (like horses). And school. You go, girl.

Leave a Reply

