Skip to content

real world money and a slight panic attack

October 31, 2010

Every once in a while, the realization of financial responsibility of adulthood gets me really really panicky.

My Literature MA isn’t exactly going to swing wide the doors of lucrative career opportunities. More realistically, my Lit MA will make me marketable to coffee shops.

Where did I screw up? The things I like to do aren’t marketable. The marketable things that I can do require a large metropolis client and employer base…basically the exact opposite of where I like living. Why didn’t I listen to my parents and go the science route? Why didn’t I opt out of college like many of my friends, go to a trade school, and become a vet tech or a cosmetologist. My hair dresser friends are buying their first houses right now. I should have sucked it up and pursued a major that didn’t interest me but paid my bills and afforded me the lifestyle I  like. I have so many doubts and regrets about the academic trajectory that I chose but can’t find a way to rectify it now. I’m 24 years old. I should be starting a career, not still second guessing my major.

I need to hug a pony.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 1, 2010 12:58 pm

    I swear I have the EXACT same internal conversations with myself….daily. Glad to know someone across the country is wearing the same pair of shoes 😉

  2. November 1, 2010 3:27 pm

    I go through this a lot too. I took the route of lots of expensive education, mountains of student loans, and a high salaried job that I don’t really enjoy. I’m currently trying to figure out some other kind of plan….

  3. November 4, 2010 2:31 am

    The good news is you get to call a “re-do”.
    I did the follow your heart not your wallet (dang it) route. Let me add, second to Lit MA in job usefulness: a degree in the Humanities with a minor in Lit. Starbucks, squared. I had a lot of interesting (read: low paying, but we like you, really!) jobs, but generally careers are what gives you the ability to have horses, not jobs.

    Why didn’t I listen to my parents? (I still shudder at the thought of dental assistant school.)

    I lucked into a good career in retail, by sheer accident, (I discovered a latent ability to design store windows.) Retail, obviously, has changed a lot with the advent of the internet, and my skills were less valuable.

    I took computer programming at 40. yuck. Unfortunately turned out to be good at it. By the time I knew everything I needed to know in that language, there was a NEW programming language I needed to know. Um. No.

    There has to be some middle ground? I hope there is some middle ground? In which what you do as your day job can also have components of what you like?

    Pulling for you.

  4. February 8, 2011 4:05 pm

    I followed my heart too, for a Equine Training Degree. Spent 40 grand to learn how to beat, yank, and spur a horse and left early with no degree.

    I’m 23 and going back to college this year. I too am watching friends buy houses and apartments whilst I sit in my parents’ house! Hopefully my college stint will get me into some kind of financial stability.

    My only advice is to look where people are hiring and figure out exactly where you want to be and how much it pays. I went into Equine College with the dream of ‘I don’t know where I’ll work but I’ll make my money!’. Yeah, right. Now I’m going back with a specific plan, a salary, and a job place to work in so I’ll remember why I went back in the first place.

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

