Skip to content

The job has to go

October 28, 2010

Working ’til 2 am and making only $28 in tips is not going to work for me.

If I’m going to make minimum wage, then I might as well work at a job where I can do my homework at the same time and not be the whipping boy of abusive bartenders. I’ll give it another two weeks, but I’m not exactly holding my breath. I worked at a restaurant in high school and college and promised I would never do it again. Now I remember why. I hate to sound like a whiny Gen Y-er and should probably just be thankful that I even have a job in this crappy economic climate. I get that I sound like a spoiled brat because the job isn’t emotionally or intellectually stimulating, my coworkers are too mean, and the job undervalues my worth as an employee and person in general.

But damnit…I’m a freaking grad student. I should not have to participate in debates over how to spell “cereal”. $4.26 an hr plus $28 in tips a night is NOT worth it.

I get that you have to do whatever to you have to do (and oftentimes not like it) in order to make life work, but isn’t there something else I can do? It sucks being the product of a generation of parents who tell their children they can do anything in the world and then being part of a world that isn’t offering much of anything right now.

I guess I’ll start another round of resumes and applications.

Still crossing my fingers that I hear back from the equestrian consulting firm.

And I want to buy another horse? *sigh*

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 29, 2010 2:51 am

    I always worked at the library in college/grad school. It was minimum wage, but I was getting paid to study, so I didn’t mind because it wasn’t really using up any more of my time (since I’d be sitting around studying during those hours anyway). I hated the restaurant gig too, though I also did that for a while. I totally get why you’re not happy, no apology for the whining necessary!

  2. October 29, 2010 5:15 am

    In response to your question – ‘is there anything else you can do?’ – go back to ranching… you were happy there.

    ;)S

Leave a Reply

