Skip to content

How much?

October 22, 2010

She’s cute.

Smart.

Brave.

Beautiful conformation.

Lovely personality.

Breeding up the wazoo.

Lovely  ground manners.

But she’s a yearling.

And $2,500.

Holy crap that’s a lot of money for an ubroke yearling. No doubt she’s very honestly priced for a fair market, but this is a soft market. It’s downright squishy. I can buy a totally broke lower lever show horse for $2,500. How can I justify buying a yearling for the same price? On the flip side, she’s probably one of the better quality horses I’ve looked at. She’s the whole package: great personality, wonderful manners, gorgeous confirmation and movement, and fantastic breeding. This is not a horse I would turn. She’d be my forever pony. But she’s still priced way above what I was allowing for my budget. An unbroke yearling in my neck of the woods goes for $500, and there are plenty diamonds in the rough.  The owner of this filly is rather well off, and so she has no pressure to sell below what she thinks the filly’s worth. Great for her….too bad for me.

So do I pursue the horse that I KNOW will be a good thing? I COULD make it work, and the seller says I can work off half her cost if I start some of her other babies. But this lady lives 45 minutes away, and I’m a full time student with a hefty work load. I COULD make it work, but it would take a lot of effort. Is it worth the amount of effort?  Or do I keep checking craigslist and dreamhorse in hopes that I’ll magically stumble across a good enough horse with a cheaper price tag? Will I get what I pay for?

Here’s the pretty girl in question:

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 25, 2010 3:59 pm

    She’s a beauty.
    Painful.
    I’d hesitate also. So much can happen between 2 year old and grown up. No doubt her price reflects the possibility she could become a brood mare. Going to grad school and raising her simultaneously would be tough!
    She might be on the market for awhile…?

  2. November 2, 2010 8:36 pm

    Wow, she’s gorgeous. The good part is that she probably hasn’t had any bad training to date, so whatever you teach her is what she’ll know. The bad part, the price and your schedule. If it were me I’d probably suck it up and go for her and know that all the hard work at the sellers and the grad school work load will eventually be a thing of the past. It’s a hard decision and only one that you can make. Good luck whatever you decide to do.

Trackbacks

  1. Welcome to the November Blog Carnival of Horses | EQUINE Ink

Leave a Reply

