Skip to content

Ranch sick

August 29, 2010

I want to go back.

I want to go back to communal meals, staff shows, aspens in the wind, horses breathing on my neck, friends everywhere, purple mountains majesty, plaid, boots, wide river valleys, howdy and ya’ll.

I miss it something awful. I’ve never been homesick before. It sucks. I feel like I’ve been ripped from everything that was right and my body and soul are mutinying. It just feels wrong to be gone. Every country song I hear on the radio has a memory attached to it. I’m instantly transported to a better time and place…..sun warmed dust and hay in my shirt. Song ends and I crash back to the hear and and now and my body is jolted out of nostalgic reverie….and it’s upset.

It went by too quick.

Ok, it’s not that bad. These are just the pitiful musings of someone who’s alone and listening to country songs on the radio.

Tomorrow will be better.

If only because it’s one more day down and one day closer to going back to the ranch. Is it too early to begin my summer countdown?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

