Skip to content

Debbie Bibb Clinic

April 4, 2010

I hadn’t heard of Debbie Bibb until I attended the Rocky Mountain Horse Expo last month. She was doing a clinic on trailer loading, and since that’s one of Beast’s biggest issues, I decided to watch. I really liked her. She had a very practical philosophy and was easy to approach. I looked into her a little more when I got back and found out she does a lot of clinics in the Ft. Collins area.  There’s one clinic in particular that caught my eye. The “Building the Horse of a Lifetime” clinic.

Now, Beast is a ’93 model and I’ve had him for 8 years without doing much with him. Maybe the “Building the Horse of a Lifetime” ship has sailed for us already. But still, I’m hoping he has another 5-7 good years left in him and I’d really like for us to develop the relationship that has eluded us for the past eight. I think we “get” each other and even have our moments of affection, but I never felt like he was “The One”.  I like Debbie’s what Debbie says about finding the horse of your dreams. She says that we spend much of our lives looking for that perfect horse partner….the one that we just click with and have an effortless connection with.  But why not make the horse you already have that special horse. I’d really like to do that with Beast and I’m hoping her clinic can help our relationship evolve from just Trail Buddies to Best Buddies. We both deserve it. And at under $300 for a two day clinic, the price is right.

I’m just not sure how Beast would do in a clinic. He’s ALL Thoroughbred when it comes to new places. He’s not the type that calmly walks off the trailer, takes a look around, and begins to graze. He’ll snort, spook, run into you, and basically dissolve into a nervous, quivering mess. Maybe this summer will allow us the time to work through some of those issues. Damn horse is always lame at the most inconvenient times…..like the only times when I have the freedom and ability to ride him. Maybe this summer will FINALLY be the summer where we’re both sound and able enough to actually work together. Knocking on wood and crossing all fingers.

Here’s the Debbie Bibb website if anyone is interested…

Debbie Bibb’s Site

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2010 8:09 pm

    I do wonder about making a horse into “the one”. I’ve owned several dozen trail horses over the decade that I ran a riding centre, and really connected with four – three geldings and a stallion. I’d be happy to go anywhere with any or all of them. The others were pretty well all safe and ensible to ride, but not special. So I think that, yes, clinics can help one get the best out of a given horse. They can help one appreciate the good points of that horse. Yes, it seems a lot easier (or at least more likely statistically) to find a horse that one can hang out with than a human partner. But I’m not convinced that a horse can become “the one” unless he is special to begin with.

    But don’t let that stop you improving that relationship through clinics and training – I’m sure that good will come out of it.

    Of my four special horses, two are still alive. One survivor is on loan and his new family love him. He wasn’t just being special for me. The stallion I still keep, and it’s a relationship that requires effort on my part to maintain – love, respect, self-awareness, assertiveness, sensitivity – he just likes the food, the grooming and the rides.

  2. May 3, 2010 2:33 am

    I also have a TB and have had my moments of wondering if he is “the” horse, but as we’ve worked together and grown–over the last year in particular–we’ve begun to match up in so many ways, it’s a little weird.

    I do worry about taking him to clinics (not that I can afford them at the moment) for the same reasons you mention. But from his perspective, at least, it’s pretty understandable. Lots of commotion and other horses mean racetracks–for Bar they do, anyway–which may not be how he wants to spend time these days.

    I call him my big brown mirror, and he has become the most affectionate horse, while still deferring to me as the boss. All of this has taken consistent work and input, but it’s been worth it every time he does something new just because he trusts me.

    It’s pretty cool, actually.

Leave a Reply

