Skip to content

It All Shook Itself Out

March 26, 2010

Exhale.

Phew.

Like my friend has told me time and time again, “It’ll all shake itself out.” And it has. Life is good in the world of Mountain Chicken. The pieces are coming together, the dust is settling, and a happy future is revealing itself to me.  Three of my biggest worries have been eliminated (or nearly eliminated) and I can start worrying about the more manageable things that I have some control over.

1) I got into graduate school!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It’s official. I am now a student of Literature at Colorado State University. I don’t know if I’ve gone into my thesis at any length here, but it means I’ll get to spend my next two years reading pre-teen horse series. Saddle Club, Thoroughbred, Heartland, Pony Pals, Canter Club…..basically any book that has a horse and a young girl in it is fair game. Going to grad school also means my life has some semblance of permanency for the next two years. It means I have a game plan. YAY!

2) I have a place to live (almost). Not just any place to live….the most awesome place to live ever. I hit the jackpot with this one. Cabin-ish? Check. Cute and cozy? Check check. On acreage? Yep. That allows horses? Uh-huh. Room for chickens? Already there. Cats and dogs allowed? Comes complete with barn cats and border collies. South facing yard for a garden? They grow tomatoes, melons, cucumber, zucchini, herbs, and carrots. Potential for a goat? As long as I build the pen. Close to school? I can bike.

All those things are amazing, but one of the best perks is the room mates. Horseback riding, herb growing, grad school going, Temple Grandin knowing, energy saving friends built right in. It’s not exactly easy to find 20-somethings that appreciate compost, dairy goats, snaffle bits, and slaughter ethics. And now I’ll live with two of them. As an example of how cool these chicks are……one of them is going to SD for the summer to track a herd of feral horses.

I’m just amazed this worked out. The situation was a bit complicated since I’ll be gone this summer and they’re looking for someone to start immediately. But I guess they found someone who just wants to stay for the summer and then I can take over the lease when I get back. Woohoo! Now I just have to meet the other room mate and pass inspection. And cross my fingers that the summer leaser doesn’t back out. Cross cross cross cross.

3) My big long cryptic woe-is me issue alluded to a couple posts ago has been alleviated.

On top of that….the snow is melting, I’m about 40 days away from heading to the ranch again, and am spending all day today on horseback :).

I’m breathing free and easy now. Life is good.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 26, 2010 6:36 pm

    Wahoo! That all sounds fantastic. I’m on the downhill part of grad school right now and getting to where I have to think about a final project/thesis. I’m a little jealous of your topic at this point! Once I actually figure out what’s expected of me, I’m sure I’ll come up with something good, but a return to childhood sounds interesting. You’ll have to share the progress. I also totally understand the roommate thing. Husbands make for dependable roommates, but you (hopefully) don’t get new ones very often, and the “newness” can be fun!

  2. BirdieNumNum permalink
    March 31, 2010 6:07 pm

    AHHHH your life is so good! w00t w00t!

Leave a Reply

