Skip to content

Riding? That’s what that is?

March 5, 2010

Four horses today.

Didn’t feel like I got a single good ride. One planted, one rushed and evaded contact, one just seemed really confused, and one fell apart. I’d love to blame the weather, the long hiatus from being ridden, poor tack, and uneven arenas….but if I’m honest then its obvious that I’m the one common denominator. It’s one of those days that convinces me that I have no business on a horse, let alone schooling a horse for someone else.

What the hell happened? I know I’m a good rider. Am I asking too much of these guys? Am I asking incorrectly? Maybe I really only excel on older greenbroke horses that have a lot of energy. Maybe I have no place on backyard horses or babies.I feel like there’s a huge disconnect between my mind and my body and I end up just going blank.

Hunting around for trainers in the area to see if a few lessons can help whip me back into shape.

One Comment leave one →
  1. geekwithahorse permalink
    March 9, 2010 5:11 am

    Sorry to hear you had a bad day. For what its worth, I’m sure we’ve all had days like you’ve described… I know I certainly have!

Leave a Reply

