Skip to content

Dare I? Running? Yoga?

March 2, 2010

So I horse sit for a neighbor when she’s out of town. The morning feeding involves groggily rolling out of bed at 6:00 am, grabbing some sort of high sugar food to supply me with enough energy to keep me awake during the short drive, and blasting country music for the same purpose. I have yet to clear the sleep from my eyes and spend the drive propped up on the driver’s side window and barely awake.

It’s about a three mile drive, and during that drive I usually see no less than 20 runners, joggers, bikers, dog walkers, etc. etc. They’re putting me to shame. It’s all I can do to crawl out of bed at this hour, and these people are healthfully jogging along…looking all fresh and rosy in the brisk am air.

I want to be one of these people. I want to be a hiker/runner/biker/yogini/weight lifter. I don’t want this for weight loss purposes. I’m at a good weight and even on the slender side. I don’t even really want do this for body sculpting purposes…thanks to riding and the poor postgrad diet (rice, beans and oatmeal), I already have a body I’m proud of. I’m really interested in being more health focused for the mental benefits. I want my attitude to be “what next” rather than “can I stop now?”. I’d also like to me more flexible for riding purposes.

I know there are tons of websites out there that help you track food and calories and whatnot, but I’ll be jotting all that information down here.

This blog already lacks focus, so why not add fitness and food blogging to the mix?

My entry for each day will be:

Day:
Wake up time:
Weight:
Breakfast:
Lunch:
Dinner:
Snacks:
Cardio:
Strength:
Energy Level:
Mood:
Bed time:

Goals for the next two months:
1) Really give this yoga thing a chance
2) Run a 5k in April
3) Up my riding game and ride in a show

And way, way off in the distance I might get my personal training license or group fitness license. I’d love to incorporate my riding and become a PT for equestrians….but that’s a ways off.

Let’s see if I can run a 5k first.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Alex permalink
    March 2, 2010 4:07 pm

    LAUREN! You are frickin’ hilarious and I promise I’m not laughing at your expence. Your accounts of your life should not just be on a blog, they should be in a book, or just running through my head all day. I miss you! And I support you running each morning. I am one of those people actually. I just can’t NOT be in the sun, even if it means doing it early. And I was raised by a mom who was raised by a dad who said that if you don’t get up with the sun, you’re wasting the day…

  2. BirdieNumNum permalink
    March 3, 2010 12:53 am

    How about biking to your horsey jobs? Three miles one-way is nothing on a bike! Since you’re already in great shape it shouldn’t be a problem for you. Transportation & fitness in one!

  3. May 5, 2010 9:56 pm

    I started running when I came to college this fall because I felt like a slacker on the days I couldn’t get out to ride my horse. So it was either run a 5k or ride for 40-80 minutes, every day. Haven’t done as well with running in the spring between blizzards, getting sick, and losing my running buddies to (their) more intense erg workouts… It’s an oddly satisfying endeavor, though, and a 5k should be no problem since you’re already in shape!

Leave a Reply

