Skip to content

Walking away with dignity intact

February 26, 2010

I’m getting my paycheck today and never going back.

The bottom line is that I’m getting underpaid to do work I didn’t sign up for, and am getting criticized the entire time I’m doing it. For $8/hr? No sir.

I feel like a much saner, happier person now that I know today is the last day.

I do feel a bit guilty about leaving this guy hanging…I’m sure he really wants to do right by theses horses, but his attitude and personality disorders keep him from being able to find or keep the help that is necessary to accomplish his goals.

But I have no obligation to be that person. It’s not my responsibility to actualize his dreams for him. Maybe he’ll get a big cosmic bitch slip, a better grip on reality, or someone that can deal with his neuroses. It’s not gonna be me.

Oh well, I’ll cut my losses and call it a learning experience. It’s a shame it wasn’t what I thought it would be, but oh well.

I still have all sorts of big horsey plans….trying to go to a schooling show in April on one of the greenies I’m riding, still have  my other clients I exercise for (clients who love their horse and it shows), ranch in the summer, and hopefully get my own beastie to a couple late season shows. I’m going to try to get a new saddle this weekend by trading my old Wintec Close Contact for an even older Collegiate or Crosby.

And the winter farmer’s market this Saturday!!!!

Next time I post on this blog, I’ll be free from the psychological chains of this crappy job.

YAY!

One Comment leave one →
  1. delilawagton permalink
    February 27, 2010 5:48 am

    “Big Cosmic B/*#! Slap” is one of the greatest lines I’ve heard in a long time- even though I refuse to curse in blogs. Great connotation Ashleigh:)

Leave a Reply

