Skip to content

I’m Ashleigh Griffen

February 15, 2010

I’m supposed to be doing linguistics homework, but my body is literally electric with excitement. I can’t bear to focus on Lacan and Derrida when life is this thrilling.

My friends are wonderful.
My horse looks fantastic.
I’m (hopefully) going to be a graduate student in an awesome program.
I love where I live.
I’m spending another summer in paradise with some of the best people in the world.
I’m getting paid to ride horses.

I’m getting paid to ride RACEHORSES.

I’m going to be a groom and exercise rider for a local backyard trainer out here. He has racehorses. Real racehorses that run in real races. This has been a pipe dream since I read the Thoroughbred books in elementary school….and now the pipe dream is a dream come true.

I call tomorrow to make my schedule.

Life is better than good. It’s fantastic.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 15, 2010 11:07 pm

    Congratulations! That is the bomb diggity. 🙂 Keep us up to date!

    You might enjoy Delila’s Blog on becoming an exercise jockey. http://delilawagton.wordpress.com/
    I notice she hasn’t updated for awhile, I hope it’s due to being busy!

    • delilawagton permalink
      February 16, 2010 10:22 pm

      I’m trying to get caught up! Ashleigh, I agree with you- LIFE IS FANTASTIC! I love the crazy beautiful world of Thoroughbred racing and I appreciate that you enjoy my blog. Good Luck with your adventure. A love of horses+determind heart+tougher than tough grit+God’s grace will get you where you want to go!
      ~Delila

  2. BirdieNumNum permalink
    February 18, 2010 12:51 am

    Ahahah Thoroughbred books….. goodness did I ever enjoy those books. I also loved The Black Stallion series 😀

Leave a Reply

