Skip to content

I’m getting there

January 13, 2010

I do miss my little mountain enclave, but right now I’m experiencing a honeymoon period with FT. Collins. I get real internet! And phone service! And there’s a target and a movie theater RIGHT DOWN THE STREET! There’s all the convenience of the suburbs but it all has a very rural feel. Once you get off the main street, the tract homes and dublexes are interspersed with old farm houses and mini ranchettes. I’m on the last street on the western perimeter, so I’m butted right up against the mountains. There are horses in front of me, behind me, and to the right of me. It’s wonderful.

And it’s WARM here ! I haven’t felt heat emanating from the sun in MONTHS. Light, sure, but any heat I felt was my own body head trapped by layers of heavy winterwear. For the past few days I’ve been venturing out in a tshirt! And warm weather means that I can ride outside.

Which I plan to be doing in spades.

The thought of a horseless winter was daunting, so I put up an ad on craigslist offering exercise riding to people who can’t get to their horses during daylight hours. I wasn’t hugely hopeful in getting any responses.

Well nine responses later I have a string of 8 horses ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ :). Everything from babies just getting started to older citizens who just need to be kept active during the winter.

Screw getting a gym membership. I’ll be able to get all the exercise I need.

I also took another huge step toward my goal of learning to rope. I actually bought the damn rope finally. I now have an untreated, 10-0 calf rope. It’s adorning my wall and I’m grinning like a fool.

Life is good here in the foothills.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. BirdieNumNum permalink
    January 15, 2010 1:40 am

    Wahoo, enjoy the “city”!

    And congrats and getting so many horses to ride! I assume you are getting paid for this, yes? Wahoo money! (and even with no money… wahoo horses!)

    Did you ever end up getting in-state status at the university?

    Wahoo wahoo wahoo

    • goamwat permalink*
      January 17, 2010 3:30 pm

      There is a lot of wahoo in my life right now ๐Ÿ™‚ Unfortunately, in state status is not one of them. I have no option at this point but to grit my teeth and accept it. And yep, there is monetary compensation for my horsey riding :). Unfortunately its not exactly a reliable source of income and I’ll have to get one of those real world jobs as well.

Leave a Reply

