Skip to content

Petition, Re-visited

December 27, 2009

So here’s the updated version. I’m erring on the side of conservative and professional and have removed the more emotional content. I think I’ve covered the bases. It’s going in today or tomorrow so if there is some glaring oversight please let me know. Thanks to those who contributed input.

On May 16, 2008 I came to Colorado to work at Drowsy Water Dude Ranch in Granby. Initially I planned to stay for just the summer, but I ended up falling in love with Colorado and decided to make it my permanent home. I have now worked at the ranch full time for two summers and am planning on a third. During the off seasons I worked at the ranch part time and also found employment at Sol Vista at Granby Ranch. For the past year and a half I have lived, worked, paid taxes, made friends and established community ties here. Furthermore, I have severed legal ties with the state of California. I have a Colorado driver’s license and am registered to vote here. Living here for the past year and a half has convinced me that Colorado is where I belong and I do not anticipate moving anytime in the near future, if ever.

I did not come to Colorado to go to school. I came here to follow my dream of living and working on a ranch, which I’ve done for a year and half. Although I initially thought I would be happy to work on the ranch forever, I started to miss academia and decided to return to school to pursue a graduate degree in Literature. My research revealed that Colorado State University was the best choice for pursuing my academic goals. I want to write a very specialized thesis about horses as symbols in literature. Marnie Leonard, of the Literature Graduate Department, was very enthusiastic about my academic project. She explained that the Lit. Department sponsors the Animality Studies Program; a very unique program that is almost perfectly tailored to support my academic goals.

While still in school, I hope to get a paid internship in the media or publishing industry that I could potentially parlay into a full time job after graduation. I’d like to combine my Communication and Literature degrees and pursue a career in the fields of advertising, publishing, public relations, or media. I would like to be able to incorporate my love of the rural lifestyle, tourism, the outdoors, and sustainable living into my career as well. Here are some positions and companies in Colorado that I’ve researched: Content Editor at Rodeo News, Marketing Assistant at Colorado Guest and Dude Ranch Association, Public Affairs Agent at the Bureau of Land Management, and Media Buyer at One Tribe Creative Advertising Agency.  I am also considering continuing my education to get a PhD in order to teach at the University level. Ideally, I would also like to be a published author.

After graduation, I’d like to establish a career and life in Ft. Collins. Fort Collins appeals to me as an ideal place to live because it offers the perfect blend of urban opportunities, suburban convenience, and rural lifestyle. I also like the college town culture, the many “green” initiatives, and the close proximity to outdoor activities. I’m even looking into buying horse property in the area to accomplish my goal of having my own ranchette in Colorado.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. geekwithahorse permalink
    December 28, 2009 2:07 pm

    I think your residency petition is well articulated. I hope that you are successful.

  2. BirdieNumNum permalink
    December 29, 2009 7:42 pm

    Horses as symbols in literature! Cool!

    I would change this —

    “Here are some positions and companies in Colorado that I’ve researched: ”

    to this —

    “Some positions and companies in Colorado that I’ve researched include: ”

    GOOD LUCK!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

