Skip to content

I struggle…

December 17, 2009

Ahhhhhhh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Is basically how I feel about this whole grad school admissions process. I was so certain that it was going to be a for sure thing, but now it might be in jeapordy.

Why?

Because of a stupid driver’s license.

I have live in Colorado for a year and a half. I have worked here a year and a half. I have paid taxes here a year and a half. Mind, body, and soul are dedicated to living in Colorado. I mean, I have a freakn BLOG dedicated to living in Colorado.

But the admissions people say I don’t really live here yet because my CO drivers license isn’t a year old.

They want to deny me in state tuition. I can’t afford out of state. I can’t attend school unless I get in state tuition.

And despite my living here, working here, loving here, and demonstrating beyond doubt that I want to make a permanent life here, they’re saying “no” because I got a plastic card in August instead of January.

I get to talk to the head honcho later to plead my case. Crossing my fingers.

Bah, I don’t like being frustrated. I don’t like climbing uphill. I don’t like it when people don’t support my goals.

But such is life, eh?

And then I look outside and the issues seem less important. There are the mountains, there is the snow, there’s that crazy beautiful Colorado sky. And despite what status is written on my application, I know this is home.

I’ll make it work. It’ll all shake itself out.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. BirdieNumNum permalink
    December 18, 2009 9:06 am

    What a miserable money grab on their part!! I mean, what if you’re someone who doesn’t have a driver’s license? (it’s possible… I’m 22 and don’t need to drive since I live in a medium-sized-ish city with great public transport and mild weather that lets you walk and bike everywhere all year-round). Can you show them rental papers and/or employment records proving that you’ve been in the state since forever?

    Love the blog immensely, by the way. Reminds me of favourite childhood books…

  2. goamwat permalink*
    December 18, 2009 7:18 pm

    Awhhh thanks for the nice words :). I’m petitioning this with all the ammo I got. Luckily, I got a lot of Coloradans ready to go the extra mile for me. Unfortunately, my life looks a bit sketchy on paper since a lot of things out here are done with a handshake instead of a signature. For example, my rent…no lease agreement…no contract…sometimes I pay rent, sometimes I work off rent…sometimes I bake cookies and rent is discounted, etc. etc.

    It just seems so silly that despite everything else, they’re going to deny me in-state status because I got a piece of plastic in August instead of January.

    yargh

Leave a Reply

