Skip to content

My life it is A-Changin’

December 6, 2009

So big things are happening.

Winter is making it’s official presence known. After a few freak snowstorms, most of the white stuff had melted away, but the new forecast is showing snow. Constant, consistent white stuff. The nights are dipping below zero, the pines on The Pass are crowned in white and the cows are getting snot icicles again. Winter, in all its blue and blustery and beautiful glory is back for another season.

This time however, my winter posts won’t be about the joys of drinking hot cocoa by the fire while the snow flurries outside. It won’t be about how numb your fingers get as you try to lift grain buckets for the horses.

This winter my posts will be about papers and finals and classes and figuring out a new town.

It’s official. I’m moving to FT. Collins. This is a bittersweet move. I’m sad to leave the ranch. It’s been my home for the last year and a half and I credit it with my desire to lead a simple, self sufficient life. I’ll miss the 2 mile dirt driveway. I’ll miss my cozy cabin and woodstove. I’ll miss the horses and cows and border collies and cats and ducks. I’ll miss the open hayfields and knowing everyone at the supermarket.

But I’ll be back. This leg of my FT. Collins stay will only be four months.

And I’m excited for FT. Collins. I’m excited to go to school(any school that stocks more than two books on canning in their bookstore has to be quality). I’m excited to have a bookstore within five minutes (an not an hour and a half) driving distance. I’m excited to make new friends. I’m excited to ride English again. And the place I ended up with is a pretty sweet compromise. I’ll be living in a lovely townhome on a county road on the outskirts of town. I’m right across from the Equestrian Center and will live on a street comprised primarily of small acre ranchettes. I’m not sacrificing my daily view of horses and cows here. So while it’s not my little cabin in the mountains, it will still be more than suitable for four months. And its a prime location to scout out future properties for when I make my official move to The Fort.

Overall, I’m excited. I’ll still knit and bake and cook and have an herb garden. And I’ll still be able to kiss horses on the nose.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 8, 2009 10:41 pm

    Still being able to kiss horses on the nose…worth all the gold in the world. 🙂 Good luck with your move!

  2. December 9, 2009 10:42 pm

    And UnoMas will be going too, right? I couldn’t bear the thought of the ninja chicken staying behind … even if it is only for 4 months.

    Seriously, I love reading how your life ebbs and flows and how you make the most out of every moment. Congratulations on the decision to move!

Leave a Reply

