Skip to content

I’ll trade some sand for snow please

November 28, 2009

So after 7 hours on an airplane and 17 hours (yes 17 hours) in various airports, I’m finally back in Colorado. And very happy to be home. Costa Rica was wonderful. It was beautiful and educational and full of wonderful inspiring people and good tropical fruit. I enjoyed white sand and turquoise water, watching monkeys in the trees, and wearing a bikini all day instead of five layers.

And still…

I’d rather have my sage covered mountains, snow, and cow smell. I was surrounded by paradise and what I wanted was my little remote cabin in Colorado. I’m pretty sure I’m crazy. It felt so good to come back. The Denver airport was full of old cowboys in boots and hats and I felt home again. It’s good to be back.

Thanksgiving went wonderfully. I didn’t celebrate with my family this year, but was surrounded by friends and good food and a ton of dogs and it was just as enjoyable. I contributed a pecan pie, butter cookies, and bacon cheddar biscuits to the feast. Happy to say they were all well received. I really feel like I’m coming into my own as a cook. I have about a month and a half left of living here before I move up to Ft. Collins for school. Although I’m sad to leave, I’m excited about picking up my studies again. Especially in a town that embraces the rural lifestyle as much as Ft. Collins does. I might not have cows in my front  yard anymore, but I’ll still able to find horses and chickens and gardens and the people who love them. I’m even doing big girl things like looking into buying property. Eek! But more on that later. I just plan on enjoying the rest of my time here by cooking, taking winter hikes, and enjoying my fireplace.

So happy to be home.

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 29, 2009 3:54 pm

    As a Colorado native, and one who lives in the mountains near Fort Collins, I loved this post. It’s true what they say “There’s no place like home” !

Leave a Reply

