Skip to content

10 Homesteading Goals

October 11, 2009

Lazy Sundays with grey clouds are the perfect time for self indulgent daydreams. Among my default daydreams are traveling to exotic countries, choosing a wedding dress, going on a cruise, having a personal chef, getting a makeover, and my most popular day dream…planning a 3 acre homesteading plot. Yes, I’m a very exciting young person.

Since I’m making up for lost time (ahem….entries) and am trying to keep my poor little blog from feeling entirely abandoned, I’ll share some of my homesteading goals. I know that I’ll have MADE IT once I achieve these…

1) Have a garden. This is probably the goal most intrinsic to self sufficiency. I have no excuses to not accomplish this since it can be done entirely in flowerpots. Still, in a perfect word I have a couple of garden beds which bless me with tomatoes, summer squash, zucchini, cucumbers, peppers, and potatoes.

2) Chickens. I want to start my morning with fresh eggs.

3) Milk a goat.

4) Knit a pair of tube socks.

5) Make honey, goat milk, and lavender/mint soap.

6) Have a meal where the majority of the ingredients come from my backyard.

7) Can. Something. Anything.

8. Play guitar outside on my porch.

9) Make my own cheese.

10) Make my own hard cider.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 11, 2009 11:06 pm

    Ah! Nice to see you’re still there, recovered or still recovering I’d guess after summer…
    Good list. All good things.

Leave a Reply

