Skip to content

Garden Envy

October 1, 2009

I frequent a lot of homesteading, self sufficiency, and gardening blogs…and right around this time is when I start to regret choosing not to live in California. The only reason for this being…the gardens. Right now, gardeners all over warmer states are being crushed under the weight of their zucchini, tomato, and eggplant yields. Gardening in suburban southern california is a no-brainer. You throw some dark stuff in the ground, scatter some seeds around, and largely forget about it save for the watering. Then three months later you have bountiful crops. You can grow anything….year round.

Where I live in Colorado, you’re lucky if you can grow lichen.

8600′ elevation, in a deep narrow canyon that gets approx. .5 hrs of sunlight a day, permafrost soil, a winter that lasts the majority of the year, and wild critters. Hungry, wild critters. I live in the icebox of the lower 48. I think only northern Minnesota rivals us in frost free days. Want to know how many?

guess

just guess

10.
There are only an average of ten days that exist without frost. Try throwing that at the Burpee’s plant finder. Know what I can grow? Lichen. And spinach during a warm winter.

Still, I persevere. It’s too late to garden anything of significance right now, but I promise that this time next year, I too will be complaining about what to do with all that zucchini.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2009 5:58 pm

    Hey, Lichen! You can grow your own wool dye. 😉 Lots and lots of it. Maybe trade it for some tomatoes? I am certain you have more than 3 readers…you can surely count me in. Beautiful photos, BTW. Love it. If you can, keep writing, it’s good, and We Want To Know. You have a unique, fresh and wonderful voice that I want to keep hearing!
    Jane

  2. geekwithahorse permalink
    October 9, 2009 4:31 pm

    You can count me in as well :).
    -Dan

Leave a Reply

