Skip to content

Update

June 30, 2009

Checking in for my weekly update. Still no internet out at the ranch, so I’m limited by a once a week librarytrip. As much as I love our little town library, the world outside is literally bursting with summer, and I refuse to spend more time inside than necessary.

So quick recap of the last week….

-Had the best guests ever.
-And the worst push out ever. HORSES WERE EVERYWHERE. In three different pastures, across the bog, strewn across 100+ acres of land. Meant a 5:00 am roundup on Monday.
-Led an awesome all day trail ride up the creek valley in the pouring rain. We found an old hunting cabin, dragged our wet rat selves inside, and made a fire out of a Capri-sun and Fritos. So happy my riders had a good sense of humor.
-Went camping and sang songs around a huge bonfire.
-Went to the lake and had the perfect lake day. Snow cold water. Cattle grazing in the fields. Capped mountains in the background. Sky blue as…..something really really really blue. Perfect beachy/lakefront smell of warm sand, suntan lotion, and towel.
-HAD MY FIRST INTRODUCTION TO ROPING! We came back from the lake and were summoned to the roping arena to help with cattle chutes. Wearing nothing but a bathing suit top, shorts, and work boots, we pushed prodded and corraled a tiny herd of roping steers. (I also got to cow surf. Cow surfing is when you stand on the steer in the penning chute and ride them through).Then the magic words: “Why don’t you saddle up Kinetic and see what he can do?”. It was like getting an invitation to the president’s ball. Kinny was saddled up faster than I thought possible. I threw on my red costume chaps that were still in the barn and rode out to our first roping experience. And let me say…..my little english horse is a cow horse. We only got one run in before the grain guys took over the arena….but he HOUNDED that little steer. Words can’t describe how exhilarating it was to gallop after a target on a fast, willing horse. I was so excited that I forgot we were confined by an arena and almost hit the side. I’m hooked.

-Yesterday one of our beloved oldies colicked and died :(.
-Bear massacre of our second batch of chickens :(.

Outside beckons. If I don’t check in before then, Happy 4th!.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 7, 2009 6:37 pm

    You have an award waiting on my blog, come by and pick it up! Congratulations.
    Jane

  2. September 16, 2009 3:57 am

    I am so sorry to hear about our horse. And the massacre. Ah, country life. It is so hard to see our animal friends go, isn’t it?

Trackbacks

  1. bUpdate/b « Girl on a Mountain with a Chicken | Img up date to you

Leave a Reply

