Skip to content

Howdy There

June 23, 2009

This entry has been a long long long time in coming. I’ve written it in my head about 500 times over the past few weeks, but do to a string of excuses, I never managed to get around to it.

First, I got sick with some flu like symptoms for about a week. A fever that came and went, nausea, aches and chills, and just general malaise. I rarely get sick like that for an extended period of time, so I went to the clinic to get some diagnostic bloodwork.

The result…..Lymes Disease. I’m the second person in the county to get it. More extensive bloodwork is getting done right now to rule out the possibility of a false positive. My next clinic appointment is on Thursday. With statistics obviously (read: not) in my favor, I’m going to make sure I’m always covered by good health insurance.

Then, once my convalescence was over, I tried to get on to the internet only to find out that our staff has exceeded the monthly allotment of bandwidth and that we are without internet until July. So the only day I can actually access the world wide web is on Tuesday, my day off.

So here I am, a few weeks later, finally able to write the entry I’ve been meaning to….

…and I can’t remember what I was going to write.

It’s been a full few weeks to be sure. Summer has finally come to the ranch and we are in full swing. Jobs and tasks have been cemented, the rain has finally stopped, the mud has dried, the flowers have come and are already starting to go, the mosquitoes are starting to make their presence known, horses have been bucked out, trails have been cleared, and many staff outings have happened. Yep, summer has officially come to the ranch. It’s great. When I look back on my job during the off season, these are the days and sights and smells I remember. The feel of the sun on my shoulders, sweat between my hat and forehead, the smell of the morning’s damp soil drying out, sun drenched roundups, sweet tea on the porch, the oily feel of sunscreen, roundups and push outs during summer storms, the snow slowly disappearing from the mountains, the huge expanses of wildflowers: bluebells and rabbit brush and mule’s ears and daisies and dandelions, hot saddle pads that smell like dirt and leather and horse sweat, sleeveless buttondowns and shorts, blazing blue summer skies, square dances in the teepee with all the windows down so that we can enjoy the breeze and the sound of the creek, sleek summer coats on the horses, the baby robins finally leaving their nest on the old elk shed, pressing a cold waterbottle to your forehead on an all day ride….

week1-3 022

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 28, 2009 12:31 am

    Wow! I hope you start to feel better soon. Please keep us all posted.

    I have finally made it to Colorado. Am nestled in safely at the kids place. Have a job at their gas station for three months. So will be able to get started on something soon. Sure would like to come out to meet you. How far are you from Silverton?

    ;)S

  2. July 7, 2009 8:43 pm

    Great blog! I love your visual/tactile/sensory descriptions of the workdays you spend out there. And the photos are truly beautiful.

  3. July 26, 2009 3:52 am

    Yikes! I’ve been so out of the loop. Sorry to hear about the lyme, hope it clears up quickly and thoroughly! Love the entries, short or long, keep ’em coming as you can. 🙂
    Jane

  4. stevensponaugle permalink
    October 3, 2009 10:45 pm

    If you have Lymes and were treated with antibiotics in first month of infection, you have about a 90 percent chance of cure.

    If you were not treated in first month, intravenous Vitamin C megadose is most effective treatment.

Leave a Reply

