Skip to content

Ick

May 20, 2009

What just transpired was not pretty. At all.

I had the morning off so I decided to dust off the ‘ole English saddle and hop on my beastie for a quick test spin after a rideless winter.

I’m counting my blessing that no one saw.

Kinetic, though rusty, was pretty good. I, on the other hand, was a total mess. My toes were pointing straight out, my lower leg was all over the place, my hands were sloppy, my seat was bouncing….

It wasn’t pretty. I’d forgotten how different English riding is from Western, and my body is having a hell of a time reconciling the two styles.

Ugh. I feel for all the re-riders out there. How frustrating it is when your mind knows what your body is supposed to be doing, and your body just doesn’t respond like it should or used to. And that was only a year absence from English tack. AND I still rode throughout…just Western. I can’t imagine how people feel when they come back after a five, teen, fifteen, thirty year hitus. Kudos to all you guys. You’re far stronger than I.

From now on I ride fifteen minutes a day in an English saddle. Posting trot. No stirrups. Hopefully under the cover of darkness so no one can see the atrocious rider I’ve become.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 23, 2009 12:44 am

    This made me laugh…I found myself in the reverse situation. I had to use a western saddle last week for the first time in years, didn’t know what the heck to do with my legs! Ended up dropping the stirrups to figure out my seat, of course had to pick them back up, (can’t exactly cross them) because those suckers are heavy and bang on the horse’s side. I was riding in heels OUT position because I wasn’t used to working against heavy fenders.

    If I ever herd cows it will be in a dressage saddle.

    Kudos to you for taking on yet *another* hard working job!

Leave a Reply

