Skip to content

I hurt

May 14, 2009

By 10am yesterday I had eaten breakfast, fed 20 horses, steers, and a bull, baked a carrot cake, and learned how to hook and unhook a HayBuster from a tractor.

Not too shabby.

The rest of the day wasn’t quite as glamorous however. Well, at least by ranch standards. I got to spend the rest of my day inside a 9 ft high water tank, handing 5 gallon buckets of water through a small opening to someone on a ladder. Over and over and over again. And then I got to do it again. It’s times like that…when I’m shoveling water with a dustpan and wearing a bleach and mud doused sweater and rubber boots, that I wonder at the fact I actually went to college.

At least all the hard work meant that I had a fantastically undisturbed deep sleep.

But it also meant that this morning was the first time that I had to take a shower for therapeutic purposes as well as cleaning ones. My back hasn’t been this achey in a long time.

Blister count is up to two.

pre-season 025

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

