Skip to content

First Day

May 12, 2009

Yesterday was my first official day of ranch work. It was so great getting back into the routine that I’ve dropped since October. It’s amazing how quickly the muscle memory of your body remembers things. I haven’t swept stalls or fed cows since October, but it feels like I had just done this last week. Time is weird. It honestly feels like winter never happened and last summer was just a few days ago.

Anyways, yesterday went just like every other ranch day: eat lunch with the family and complete the list of chores given. Yesterday’s chores were to feed the animals on the ranch, clean the kitchen ceiling and fridges, and move the horses. Moving the horses required actual riding so….yay! It also required hauling 40 horses, eight at a time, to a new pasture…..so boo. Lots of catching horses that didn’t want to be caught, worming horses that didn’t want to be wormed, and separating horses that OHMYGOD I WILL DIE IF I LEAVE MY BUDDY. Kinetic found a boogie man in this trailer and decided that he would not load, so I had the pleasure of hand walking Jiggy McJig face two miles back to the ranch.

By the time 5:30 rolled around I was officially ranch tired; it’s a full body exhaustion that makes cobblestones seem just as comfortable as a feather bed. It’s great though. My body has been idle for two long, and I love that it now has things to do. My body does not agree. My body was perfectly happy being idle.

Since the season hasn’t started yet, our nights are still free, so we went over to the neighboring ranch to see everyone else I hadn’t seen since my return. The evening was filled with grumbling about work, small town gossip, and rodeo talk.

Good day.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 13, 2009 2:32 am

    You know what, we need to all pitch in and get you a camera, girlie. Anyone else game? Say, four of us at $25 each and it’s done… but we need pictures from you!

Leave a Reply

