Skip to content

Take me Home Country Roads

May 9, 2009

After an uneventful and rather pretty fifteen hour drive, I’m back in Colorado! It’s amazing. Being back here evokes a feeling that’s akin to falling love. It’s an airy fluttering and swooping and giddiness and inability to stop smiling. Each time I blink or breathe I fall in love with Colorado all over again. It’s home sweet home.

However, it is a bit disconcerting being back after a month’s absence. I feel somewhat disconnected and displaced. I suppose it’s the feeling that anyone gets after they return to the familiar after an extended absence to find things so recognizable but at the same time so different than when they left.

And different it is. It’s the difference of night and day from when I left in early April. When I left, the world was white, the horses were hiding in the shelter of the trees, the lakes and rivers were frozen over, and the mama cows were laboring under the weight of the calves still inside them. Now it’s like life has exploded all over this river valley. The snow is completely gone save for a few select shady spots (and the rocky mountains,….they are still covered with the stuff and present a very majestic backdrop). The ground is covered in verdant, fecund grass. The horses and new baby beeves are frolicking in their newly green pastures. There are geese and ducks all over the place enjoying their finally melted waterways. It stays light past 6:00 ! I am literally shaking my head in wonder at the changes that have occurred outside my door over the course of one measly month. It really is a 180* turnabout. I don’t know which transformation was more dramatic: leaving Colorado when it was green and coming back to find it white, or leaving when it was white and coming back to find it green. I wonder how long it will take to get used to this new view out my window.

I have a driveway again that’s no longer rutted with mud and slush!

I’m ready to get back to work. As loathe as I am to share the ranch, which I’ve had to myself all winter, with other people, the tradeoff is worth it. Come Monday, I hope to be exhausted and stiff with hard work.

And covered with horse hair.

And achey with saddle soreness.

With a big huge grin on my face.

I’m glad to be back.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 9, 2009 5:51 am

    Welcome Home! I’ll be in CO end of June permanently…

    ;)S

Leave a Reply

