Skip to content

Wednesday

March 26, 2009

So my friend Katie had some college buddies come visit her out here in Colorado on their road trip. As part of getting the full “Colorado Experience” they decided to come out to our ranch and play with all of the guns we have here. I love Colorado. I really do. And it was definitely special seeing someone else get pulled into it. I rarely get to see our life through somebody else’s eyes.

Shooting a feed bucket from the shelter of our hay barn while looking at the Colorado River and the Rocky Mountains while it’s snowing out is , if not quite a typical day, at least a fairly common occurrence. But to them, it was an “experience”. They kept talking about how amazing it was, how “this is the life”, that they thought this type of idyllic existence only existed in movies, and how this is an experience to fuel their stories for life.

My typical Wednesday is someone else’s “story for life”.

That’s freaking fantastic.

My life is the life they want.

Perspectives like that make t difficult to convince myself to leave this place. Why relegate this life to just a story that I can tell to the family while we reminisce about the good old days? Why make this just a good story when it could be my entire life?

A lot of times, leaving here seems a silly choice that I’ll end up regretting.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 26, 2009 3:34 am

    “My life is the life they want”
    You GO girl. That IS fantastic. I’m with you; if you’re living the life you want, it’s the right life. The good thing about changing direction is, (if you feel like it) you can always change back.

  2. March 27, 2009 2:29 am

    “A lot of times, leaving here seems a silly choice that I’ll end up regretting.”

    Agreed!

    ;)S

Leave a Reply

