Skip to content

Things I know

March 7, 2009

For some reason this morning was full of random pseudo-intellectual musings about all sorts of things that I’d never be able to figure out or change….like the nebulous nature of time. It seems like yesterday that I was in a cap and gown but that was back in May. There are so many things that I remember so ridiculously clearly that they must have happened yesterday. But no, they happened months ago. Time is strange and mean.

But that’s enough about the weird uncertainties of life that I can’t change or grasp.

There are a few things I know for certain:

It’s finally snowing!!!!

Which means that all the ice is covered in 1/8” of snow and I almost didn’t make it to work due my car’s unwillingness to go faster than 2mph up a hill.

I might ski tomorrow.

I’m eating a toaster strudel and it is good.

I’ll miss the solitude of the ranch that I get to experience in the winter. And I thought summer was quiet. Nothing compared to winter. I’m feeling possessive of the quiet.

Cows are sweet, senseless animals that have long eyelashes.

Baby cows often move in a confused and adorable little herd.

Horses are fun to watch.

A man walked by saying “Them cowboys just ain’t cowboy’n.” It makes me happy that there are still people referred to as cowboys in this world.

I can see elk from the gas station. Life isn’t bad.

During the winter it seems like there are only three colors, blue, brown, and white. But a thousand variations of each one.

Next week is spring. When did THAT happen? Where did the winter go?

My snap peas are about 9” tall.

I know all the words to “Hey Mickey” and am rocking out at work.

I really really want to ride.

I start summer work in 9 weeks.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Scott permalink
    March 7, 2009 8:50 pm

    Random and entertaining.
    Thanks for the thoughts.

    Scott
    http://www.wildhorsehope.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

