Skip to content

Hometown California

March 6, 2009

So a few weeks ago I posted an entry that cried about how much I don’t want to leave Colorado and go to California.

I also said that I’d probably change my mind.
I was right.

As much as I’m loathe to leave Colorado, California is starting to look pretty good. Especially the area that I want to move to.

It helps that all the pictures I can find of the area feature open plains surrounded by rolling green hills, people wearing plaid, horses, cattle drives, riding on the beach, lake hikes, and ranches. I’m going to tell myself that California will be like a kinder, gentler Colorado…but near the ocean….and with two growing seasons. I’m also loving the fact that the city websites for the various towns I’m looking at often feature farmer’s market dates, cutting horse futurity times, open hiking routes, livestock auctions, sheepdog trials, county fairs, and art shows.

The general area is known for wine and horses. I think I can happily live in any area that’s known for wine and horses.

All near the Los Padres National Forrest, three major lakes, the Pacific Ocean, and equidistance from San Franciso and Los Angeles if the mood strikes me.

San Luis Obispo, Santa Margarita, Paso Robles, Atascadero, San Miguel, or Los Osos, here I come.

On top of all that wonderfulness, the housing prices (well by LA standards)are right and I can possibly go back to school.

Since the economy is shot, and I’ll probably just be waiting around anyway to get a good job once I leave the ranch, I might as well get a Master’s while I wait. I love academia, and I think an English MA would round out my worthless degrees nicely.Communication, Art, English? I’ll only ever be qualified to be a wrangler or a teacher.

I love it when everything comes together.

Now I just need a job…

Here’s some pictures to keep me excited about California:

Hmmm….maybe I shouldn’t post pictures. It might start a mass migration to the central coast and hike up the housing costs.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

