Skip to content

Epping

March 6, 2009

On of my favorite parts of the day during the summer is morning roundup. It’s definitely the part of my job that makes me feel most like a cowboy.

Once I’ve gulped down two cups of day old coffee and am finally over the fact that it’s 4:45 am and I still have to catch my roundup horse in the freezing black, it’s a pretty special experience.

I’m the one that gets to see the sun rise over the Rockies and slowly flood the valley with light. All from the back of the horse. I get to spend my first morning hours in a meditative state listening to nothing but the crunch of dried leaves underfoot, the trilling of birds, and the gentle whoof of horse breath. Occasionally I’ll talk with whoever’s on roundup with me, but the coffee usually hasn’t kicked in yet.

We’ll trot along the trail until it’s time to separate and bring in the horses. We’ll take a quick moment to appreciate the peaceful, bucolic scene of a hundred head of horses grazing…then…

From then on it’s….
Counting.
Flanking.
Herding.
Directing.
Cutting.
Epping.
Creek crossing.
Loping.
Shoo-ing.

I know I’m far from, but when I’m gathering up a herd of horses and climbing up creek beds and loping on dusty roads and watching 115 horses through a cloud of dust in front of me, I feel like a freak’n cowboy.

Gosh I romanticize myself. I feel especially fantastic when I know that I look like that classic figure: a lone cowboy on his trusty steed on top of that ragged draw or mesa, silhouetted by a blood orange sunrise.

I swear I saw someone stop and take a picture of me like that once when I was doing round up by the road.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 6, 2009 9:13 pm

    This is so beautiful! In each of your posts, you paint such a vivid picture of a life I could never even imagine, which is what makes good art, if you ask me. Thanks for sharing, it’s so interesting to get glimpses of lifestyles and loves that aren’t my own.

    • goamwat permalink*
      March 6, 2009 9:58 pm

      Oh gosh! Thanks for the kind words. I think I mostly babble :). Glad you’re enjoying.

Leave a Reply

