Skip to content

Sky

March 3, 2009

The melt is somewhat welcome because it means the coming of spring which means finally being able to ride a horse. But I’ll miss the winter. I really will. Colorado really does transform into a winter wonderland postcard. It’s beautiful and charming and austere and dramatic all in one. And the sky. I’ll miss the winter storm skies the most. The cloudless, cornflower blue summer skies are beautiful, but the winter skies of white, gray, blue, and almost black striated clouds are striking. It’s a myriad of colors and textures and absolutely stunning. All with a foreground of snowcapped mountains. *sigh* I could probably write an entry a day about the sky. I just love it. Some days its rippled white and blue, some days its blotches of black and grey, some days it’s on fire, some days it looks like liquid white gold. It’s……..*sigh*. I never noticed the sky before in California. I guess that’s because during the day there’s yellow haze and during the night there’s too much ambient light. I guess there wasn’t ever any sky to notice.
I know that montana lays claim to having the big skies, but Colorado must come in second place….so much open space and ….*sigh again*
Driving down the highway while listening to country and looking at that is nirvana

graduationcolorado-2981

3 Comments leave one →
  1. victoria permalink
    March 3, 2009 7:54 pm

    there’s no weather in CA, therefore no sky.

  2. March 4, 2009 12:47 am

    Amazing! You’d love the sky out here in Seattle right now – outside my window the thunder is rolling with the lightning flashing. The color of the sky has the deep purple-yellow color of a bruise and I am waiting with much anticipation for the rush of rain that must be close behind each thunder blast. I only get tired of the sky here when it’s flat gray for days on end, and there’s nothing to say about it those days.

    • goamwat permalink*
      March 6, 2009 9:58 pm

      I butcher numbers.

      Hmmm….maybe I should become an accountant.

Leave a Reply

