Skip to content

Crazy Weather

February 24, 2009

I almost don’t know what to make of this.
I’ve seen plenty of white stuff fall from the sky, but it’s been a long time since I’ve seen wet stuff. However, today was a balmy 34* so it rained instead of snowed. Weird. Very.
Now the world is a slushy, icy puddle that will turn into a huge ice luge just in time for me to drive to work tomorrow. Excellent.
Thanks to the rain, I had the opportunity to humiliate myself in front of a group of hardened, rough and tough Colorado mechanics. Their shop is at the bottom of a downhill driveway,which, given the weather, was basically an ice slick. It’s bad enough that I have California plates in this area of Colorado. On top of that, I work at a ski resort. So basically a California girl wannabe ski bunny. And to add insult to injury…So of course all the mechanics file outside to work on a car just as I attempt to drive out.
Vreeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee.
Spin.
Fishtail.
Slide.
Snow flying everywhere.
Laughter (not my own).

Driving in these conditions are no fun. I almost didn’t make it up my own driveway which has an incline grade of about .0001%. Of course rain means cloud cover which means an inky blackness that even my brights wouldn’t cut.

Usually though I love the blackness of the sky. I imagine this is one of the few places left in the US where you can see the Milky Way. I’m pretty sure that Colorado has some of the clearest sky and cleanest air there is.

*deep breath*
yay

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

