Skip to content

Lauren Hearts Granby

February 17, 2009

I have a big huge schoolgirl crush on Granby, Co. I love the way he smiles, tosses his hair, and makes my heart go pitter patter. Seriously, I just about swoon when I think about Granby. If I had a notebook, It would read Lauren Granby all over it in bubble letters. As it is, I have huge lists devoted to all the things I love about this place. In my misplaced maternal affections, I plan on naming my next horse Granby.

I love passing Country Ace on my way to work.
I love all the cows.
I love the open space.
I love that we get one am radio station and it’s devoted to country and not afraid to talk about God and Country.
The one highway.
The rodeos.
The fact that cowboy vernacular has survived the ages….we have “high country” here and “cowtown” and “stockyards”.
The grocery store carries GRIT, Mother Earth News and Hobby Farmer.
I love that these magazines apply more to me than the OTHER rack full of Glamour, Cosmo, and Shape.
Country music is everywhere….salon, grocery store, gas station…
I love the animal prints in the snow.
As much as I love the winter, I love that winter makes you wait for the summer. The beautiful summer wher I work outside with horses, leather, pine trees, aspens, and the ever present smell of sage brush.
I love that I’m doing what I love to do even if it isn’t exactly what society tells 22 year old recent college graduates they should be doing.
I can’t get over the fact that I’m here and I’m doing this. I really am living the dream.
So help me….I refuse to have my gravestone read “Lauren made a lot of money” or “Lauren worked hard at this company”.

I want it to say “Lauren lived an interesting life and lived it well.”*

***Personal opinion I espose. I don’t know how many people think that living on a ranch in Middle of Nowhere, Co and baking pies is interesting.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 17, 2009 4:02 pm

    I love animals. Great blog and hope to have some time soon to come back and read more!

  2. February 18, 2009 1:58 am

    Great Pots. I live in Granby too and just love it. I can’t imagine being anywhere else at this point in my life. I’ve been enjoying your posts. Nice Job.

Leave a Reply

